Christmas Lights

Well after many texts back and forth with my friend we decided to run outside Thursday night.  Yet again it ended up being a really good run.  I don’t know why I dread running sometimes and expect to not enjoy it.  I had been fighting a headache all afternoon on Thursday and had been popping Tylenol and Advil at regular intervals in an attempt to make it go away.  I decided that the pain had subsided enough that I could run.  So off I went to meet my friend.  We ran to and around a little man-made lake near her place.  It was about a 10k route.  The Christmas lights that the city had set up were beautiful.  We walked quite a bit by the lake to get a better look at the lights.  The next morning I went to the gym to run on the treadmill before heading to work.  On Thursday when we were running my ankle was sore for the whole run.  Normally my right ankle hurts but only when I’m not running.  I try not to worry about it too much because it doesn’t seem to ever get worse.  But on Thursday it was my left ankle and it hurt for the whole run despite the fact that I had a lot of Tylenol and Advil in my system.  It didn’t get worse during the run so I mostly ignored it.  On the treadmill on Friday it hurt quite a bit more than it did on Thursday night but that may have been because I hadn’t taken any painkillers that day.  The ankle continued hurting throughout the day and when I looked at it that night I realized that my ankle and foot were swollen.  I’ve decided that I must have sprained it somehow.  It’s actually not unusual for me to sprain my ankles without knowing it.  They usually don’t hurt quite this much though.  I decided to take today off from running and hopefully it will be a little better for my run tomorrow.     
Image

I can’t believe that it’s Christmas Eve tomorrow!  I was talking to a friend at church today and suddenly realized that it’s almost Christmas.  Today I finally finished my shopping (mostly).  I still had to pick up a gift for my sister.  I had to drive to another city to get it so that’s part of the reason that I left it so late.  Now my mom is the only one that I haven’t come up with an idea for.  I’m still trying to think of something that doesn’t cost money.  I did do all the Christmas baking for her.  I even made something special for her.  I made sugar cookies and shortbread (that I put toblerone pieces on to make it a little more exciting) at my nephew and my mom’s boyfriend’s request.  I also made chocolate cookies with candy cane Hershey’s kisses on top.  For my mom I made Sachertorte Bars.  My mom had Sachertorte in Germany for the first time years ago and loved it but she hasn’t found any that tasted quite as good since that first time.  This past year I was in Austria with my mom and we kept looking at the Sachertorte and finally bought some but it was unimpressive.  When I saw a recipe in one of my cookbooks today for Sachertorte bars I decided that I should make them for my mom.  Hopefully they will turn out well and be yummy. 

Tomorrow I’m hoping to get a run in and maybe also do a class at the gym if I think that my ankle can handle it.  I also have to finish the sachertorte and maybe make another double batch of eggnog.  I’m planning on going to the Christmas Eve service at the church in the evening and then picking up sushi before heading to my friend’s house to watch some Christmas movies.  I’ll be staying at my friend’s place over night and spending Christmas morning with their family.  I’m really looking forward to it.  In the evening I’ll head to my mom’s for Christmas dinner.  I think that it’ll be a good Christmas this year.  I’m looking forward to it.   

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

