Wipeout

Do you know that show ‘Wipeout’?  Where the people have to go over obstacles that are out to get them.  Well today I felt like someone was playing a prank on me and had put me on that show.  I took my niece to an indoor playground today.  She was so excited to go.  We got there and I kind of thought that I would just watch her as she played but that wasn’t the plan.  She expected me to go everywhere with her.  I would have been uncomfortable having her out of my sight anyway, especially with all the allergy problems lately, but I just hadn’t really known what to expect.  So off we went through the child sized obstacles.  We I crawled through little tunnels and went down slides that gave huge painful shocks from the static and friction.  We walked across rope bridges that I hoped were strong enough to hold my weight.  I was thankful that I’m not any bigger than I am.  Some of the obstacles are really not made for people much bigger than me.  Overall it was fun though.  I enjoyed spending time with my adorable niece even if I did feel a little out of place as an adult in a child’s playground. 

In the afternoon my sister and my nephew met up with us at an outdoor park.  My nephew wanted to race me again.  The last time we raced we tied twice.  I knew that he would probably beat me this time because my legs are so sore and my ankle still hurts quite a bit.  We set off and right away my ankle was killing.  I didn’t even pretend that I was going to be able to keep up.  Later he wanted to play tag.  I really didn’t want to but my sister and my niece agreed and I didn’t want to be a poor sport.  It’s a scary thing having a fast 6 year old chasing after you and knowing that you’re not getting any further away from him even though you’re trying really hard.  Eventually he tagged me.  That’s when I really started to feel embarrassed by my slowness.  I couldn’t catch my 6 year old nephew or my sister.  My niece had given up and gone to play on the swings already so I couldn’t even pick on someone slower than me.  Eventually I caught my nephew.  Phew, what a relief!  I’ve decided that I don’t like playing tag and that I need to work on my speed.  My nephew and I went for a bike ride later.  He’s a good little bike rider.  It was fun riding with him.  I might have to try to do it more often.  We raced on our bikes the last little bit to the house.  Again we tied.  I’m telling myself that if I’d had more air in my tires or been on my own bike I could have beat him.  It’s pretty sad that I can’t beat a 6 year old at anything.  I am pretty sure that I could out run him in distance.  Hopefully I’ll be able to do that for several more years.  At least I’m still faster than my 4 year old niece.  

I was supposed to go to the gym today.  I was going to do a spinning class and run on the treadmill.  I did neither.  😦  Next week I’m going to do better.  I have my massage tomorrow and hopefully it will help with my leg and ankle pain.  I plan to do two classes at the gym Saturday morning and I will have to do a long run probably on Sunday.  Then next week I’m going to be organized and disciplined and go to the gym regularly.   

I won something the other day. I enter quite a few giveaways on various blogs but I’ve never won anything before. Shortly before Christmas I entered a Sparkly Soul giveaway at noshingonasphalt.wordpress.com and I won! I’m pretty excited about it. I’m really looking forward to trying out the headband. I’ve tried a couple of different headbands in the past and they fall off in less than 5 minutes. I think that I must have a strangely shaped head. I’m really hoping that this one will work. It would be nice to not have to use barrettes and bobby pins to keep my hair out of my face when I’m at the gym. I decided to get a plain black one so that it will match anything. If I like it then I’ll probably order something a little more fun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

