Whining and complaining all the time!

I think that training for a full marathon is turning me into even more of a complainer and worrier than I usually am.  I feel like I’m constantly blogging and talking about my aches and pains.  The funny thing is that I don’t even usually mention all of my pains.  See?  I’m making an effort not to drive everyone crazy with my constant complaining.  At the same time though I want to be real.  I don’t want to pretend that I love the training and that I feel great when I don’t.  I’m sure that there are a lot of people out there that also deal with a lot of pain while training for a full (or a half, or even shorter distances) and maybe my complaints will make them feel better in some way.  Or at the very least they won’t feel alone. 

My right ankle has improved dramatically.  It hurt the day of the long run and the next day and has barely bothered me since.  I don’t understand that ankle at all!  It has been bothering me off and on since last summer.  Maybe even since last spring, I can’t remember.  It used to hurt only when I was not running and it seemed kind of random.  Then a few weeks ago it started to hurt at the end of an easy flat 10k.  It hurt on and off for about the last 2k.  When it hurt it really hurt.  It was sharp pain.  But then suddenly it would be totally pain free.  After my run on Saturday it hurt fairly steadily for at least 24hrs and then stopped.  My left ankle on the other hand mostly hurts while I’m running.  Tonight I ran a block to the mailbox and back and it was painful for the first 20 steps or so and then eased off slightly.  It’s puzzling.  I just keep hoping that it’s nothing to worry about and that they won’t prevent me from training for and running the full. 

My next complaint is my back.  It’s mostly the general area between my shoulder blades.  This is an annoying but tolerable pain.  It hurts most of the time, like right now, but it’s more stiffness than anything.  I keep stretching it over my exercise ball which helps temporarily.  I’ve also been trying to strengthen it by doing weights at the gym.  I think that all the arm movement when running for 2+ hours is what the main problem is.  That and all the physio I did about a year ago.  It actually has been bothering me since stopping the physio but it’s been worse now that I’m doing long runs.  Probably if I continued doing 4 hrs of physio exercises every day it would get better but it’s hard to commit 4 hrs of your day to physio exercises when you’re not getting paid for it.  My last complaint for the day is my left shoulder.  I hurt this shoulder at work a while back and it has never stopped hurting.  According to my doctor it probably never will.  That’s why I used to go to physio for 4hrs a day.  It was great and it improved it and reduced the pain but sometimes it flares up.  Lately that seems to be most of the time.  Ok, that’s it for the complaints for today at least.  Training for a full is fun!!  (note the saracasm)  Only about 10 more weeks of training left!  I am extremely happy that my run this weekend is only about 10k.  I am planning to get it done early-ish and then go watch my nephew’s last soccer game for the season and then go to his 7th birthday party.  I guess I’d better remember to go to the mall tomorrow and find him a gift.  He wants lego so it shouldn’t be too hard to find something. 

Last night my friend and I used a groupon that we bought last year and went to a macaron making class.  It was a lot of fun.  We’ve gone to other cooking/baking classes before and this one may have been my favorite.  We actually got to participate for a change instead of just watching someone else make the food.  The problem with going to things like this is that I choose to eat sugar.  I decided before going that I wouldn’t worry about trying not to eat sugar while there.  They actually had meringues and truffles for us to try in addition to the macarons that we made.  I had one of everything (2 flavours of macarons) but I did skip the mimosas and iced tea and just drank water.  I felt slightly sick after eating all that sugar.  When I went to bed last night I noticed that my ankles and feet were swollen.  I’ve had a lot of trouble in the past with swelling and I’m starting to wonder sugar is part of the problem.  The last time I had sugar I noticed swelling as well.  They are still swollen now.  I’m certainly going to start paying attention.  We were given 6 macarons to bring home with us.  I put mine straight into the freezer and I plan to take them to my friends house tomorrow so that I won’t give in at a weak moment and eat any more.  I made some cookies tonight for myself so that I won’t be tempted to eat junk tomorrow at my friends place.  I posted the recipe on the recipe page of the blog.  I think that I could probably reduce the honey next time I make this recipe.  It’s a new one that I tried for the first time tonight.  I altered it a lot from the original recipe so I didn’t know what to expect.  I like them. 

I took a FoodSafe course today, and passed.  I like taking courses like that.  I don’t really know why.  I guess maybe because it is practical and useful knowledge.  It’s hard to believe than any of us are still alive though with all the things that can go wrong.  I was shocked by the stats on how many people don’t wash their hands after using the bathroom.  I see it all the time and it drives me nuts but it still surprises me to hear about it.  I’m a huge handwasher so it sort of grosses me out when other people don’t wash their hands.  I think that one of the reasons that I rarely get sick is because I wash my hands a lot.        

I’ve been struggling with my self esteem this week.  I guess being told by an employer that they don’t want you to work for them can kind of do that.  I hate how one little thing can make you start talking negatively to yourself.  I try to stop the negative thoughts right away but they still keep popping up when I’m not expecting them.  My friend reminded me last night of Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” (NLT) 

I have to come up with something to talk about again for my class this week.  I don’t think that I can talk about my poor self-esteem for 10 minutes.  I need a problem.  Maybe something will come up tomorrow.  I have enough little problems but I just don’t know if I can talk about any of them for 10 minutes.  I don’t want to repeat any of the things that I’ve already talked about either.  I’m sure that I’ll think of something. 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

