Just call me Debbie

I’ve been in a bit of a slump lately. I’ve been struggling with being unemployed, not being sure about what I want to do with my life and not having any income coming in right now. The career explorations class that I took a couple of weeks ago didn’t help me out much. Mostly it just made me feel more depressed. Ever since then I’ve been having a lot of trouble getting myself motivated to do much of anything. I haven’t been applying (or even looking) for many jobs. I haven’t been researching a career in holistic nutrition. I haven’t been wanting to exercise. I know that these are things that I need to be doing but I’ve been doing all kinds of other time wasting things instead. I haven’t even been doing things that are productive like cleaning and organizing my house. At least during normal times of procrastination I will get other things done. Not lately. I’ve even been spending less time with friends because I feel like I won’t be very good company. But I think that I’m on my way out of the slump. I told myself that I had to get out of this by the end of this week. Part of my problem, whether it’s a result or a cause I don’t know, has been that I’ve had more pain than usual lately. I’ve had swelling in my legs and feet along with probably a normal amount of knee, ankle and other leg pain. But the worse of it has been my wrist. My wrist first started hurting me in 1998. I have mostly learned how to manage it so that the pain doesn’t get very bad and doesn’t stop me from doing too much. In the fall I started doing weight classes at the gym. I didn’t lift anything too heavy but I found that it really aggravated my wrist. I tried changing the way that I did things to make it easier on my wrist. I stopped doing that class for multiple reasons (although I hope to get back to it at some point) but the wrist pain has never completely gone away again. In the past two weeks it suddenly got much worse. I was icing it and wrapping it but some days the pain was so bad that I basically would avoid using that hand at all. I find it really frustrating to deal with constant pain like that. Almost every time I move my fingers I would get a horribly sharp pain in my wrist. I was even dreaming about it and the pain was my first thought some mornings when I would wake up. I didn’t know what to do other than wear a splint on that wrist. I don’t know what the cause of the pain is and so I don’t know how to make it go away. I’ve been eating well and I try to live a healthy life but I don’t know what else to do. A few days ago I read something about supplements to take if you have fibromyalgia. I still don’t think that this is what I have but I do believe that inflammation is a problem for me. I decided that I would go out and buy some of the supplements and give them a try. So, now I am taking bromelain and turmeric 4X/day, kombucha tea and kefir. Coincidentally (or maybe not) my wrist suddenly has started feeling a lot better. I’m going to continue taking the supplements and hopefully will continue to see a decrease in pain and swelling.
Ok, enough whining and complaining.
In 2 days I’m going to be running a full marathon!! I’ve been trying not to think about it too much because I don’t want to stress over it. Tonight I’ll be going to pick up my race package. Today will be my last run before the big one. I know most people struggle with tapering but I haven’t had any trouble. In fact, it may be my favorite and the easiest part of marathon training for me. I have no trouble at all reducing the amount that I run. I’ve probably done even less than I should have the past couple of weeks. I tend to worry more about doing too much than doing too little. I want my legs to be very well rested for Sunday. I even took the bus yesterday to the train instead of walking because I didn’t want the 4k downhill walk to hurt my knees. My legs in general do feel better right now though than they had been feeling. My knees still aren’t feeling normal but they have definitely improved and I’m not too concerned about whether they will be a problem on Sunday. My run today will be short, slow and easy. It’ll probably be about 3 or 4k. I had actually planned to do a spinning class today instead of running but I stayed up too late last night and didn’t want to wake up early enough to make it to the class. I need to be more self disciplined. Tonight I’m going bowling with the middle school kids. Hopefully I won’t strain any muscles that I don’t normally use. I never thought that I would worry about going bowling but apparently this run is making me paranoid. Tomorrow I will probably be packing parachutes all day and I’m hoping that it won’t make me sore as well. It shouldn’t bother my legs at all so I’m not too worried. My wrist might protest to both the bowling and the chute packing though. The weather is supposed to be beautiful on Sunday with the temperature getting up to 23C!! I don’t generally mind the heat so I’m not too worried that it’ll be too hot for me. I expect that it’ll still be cool in the morning. I will take sun and warmth over clouds and rain any day so I’m happy that the forecast looks so good. In fact I’m getting excited just thinking about running in sunny weather with beautiful scenery. I’ll just need to remember to actually look around at the scenery occasionally.
I’m looking forward to starting skydiving again next week. I think that it’ll be difficult being out there tomorrow packing chutes and not jumping. But the weather forecast looks good for a while so hopefully I’ll have a chance to do a few jumps next week. A few new people just recently finished the course to learn how to skydive so there should be some more new faces around. I think that it’s going to be a busy year at the dropzone this year.
My dad and I made me a garden in my yard yesterday. It is 6’X3′. I’m going to research what plants can be planted beside each other and then hopefully I’ll start doing some planting next week. The plants that I started indoors with seeds have not been doing very well. I have 2 zucchini plants that have survived and that’s it. I might have to try again (for the 3rd time).
Well, it’s time to get out and do my pathetically short run today. I’m actually looking forward to getting out in the sunshine today. It looks wonderful out there. I love the sun!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

