Gardening

garden
I love having a garden in my backyard and pots of things growing on my porch. I had expected gardening to be more work that it has been so far. Every day I eat something that I have grown myself. My carrots are big enough to eat and I’ve started eating one every day as I water my garden. Yum. My first zucchini is starting to grow and my pumpkin flowers are going to bloom soon. Since this is my first attempt at gardening I was a little worried that it wouldn’t work very well. I didn’t expect everything that I planted to actually grow into something and I thought that I’d be spending a lot of time weeding, watering and caring for the garden. Basically so far I’ve mostly just had to remember to water it regularly and pull out a few weeds every now and then. Initially I left a lot of space in the garden because I wasn’t sure what to plant but I keep planting more things as I see the success of what has already been planted. Now I just need to figure out how to tell when the root veggies are ready to pull up. I’m going to put up my new favorite smoothie recipe in my recipe section. I use lettuce, stevia and mint from my garden in the recipe and it is sooo good.

Yum fresh carrots straight from the garden.

Yum fresh carrots straight from the garden.

<a

I have been loving my life lately. The weather has been beautiful which means that it is perfect for skydiving. I did 8 jumps during the time from Friday through to Tuesday. I am now up to 66 jumps. Every jump that I've been doing lately has been with other people and I've been learning a lot. One of the guys has also been helping me out a lot. My last 3 jumps were with him and we were working specifically on things that I need to learn. It was great! I'm going to have to start thinking about buying some of my own gear. I've been renting equipment for every jump and it's not cheap. Buying equipment isn't cheap either but if I'm going to stick with the sport it makes sense to invest in my own equipment. Plus it would be nice to have stuff that fits me so that I'm not covered in bruises from wearing equipment that doesn't fit quite right.
Yesterday I babysat my niece and nephew. We decided to go to the beach. It takes a long time to get ready to take two kids to the beach for a few hours. I had to make lunches, get the kids ready, get everything together… Taking kids to a beach requires a lot more stuff than when I go to the beach with friends. Both kids have food allergies so I had to have their emergency kits (with the epipens wrapped in cooling gel packs), I brought lunch for them (I would have even if they didn't have allergies because it's healthier), we needed towels, changes of clothes, an umbrella, a blanket, pool noodles, buckets, shovels… My trunk was full by the time I got everything in there. I think that next time I would skip the umbrella. We didn't even use it. There was a nice breeze and most of the time the kids were playing in or by the water and I was there with them. I did get a slight sun burn though. I guess SPF 4 just doesn't give me enough protection. I need to find some better sunscreen so that I'm more inclined to put it on. Foodbabe discussed sunscreen on her blog a while back and she recommended some good brands so I really should go out and pick up a bottle. I've read things in the past about sunscreen being harmful and actually being a contributing factor in people getting skin cancer so I'm always a little reluctant to put it on. Plus I like having a tan. I actually never used to burn. I might have gotten a little pink but it would usually be a tan by the next day. Now it seems like I get a burn every year so I really need to start being more careful. I wonder what the difference is. Is it because I'm living in a different area or is my skin changing as I age or is the sun more harmful?
beach
I haven’t been exercising very much lately. I really don’t feel as though I’ve had much spare time but maybe that’s partly an excuse. If it was important enough I’m sure that I could find the time. I have been running a couple of times a week but they’ve mostly been short runs. I’m considering doing about 8k today if I can get my butt out the door. I’m partially ready to go. I’ve been trying to work on my speed and I hate speed work. I think that I am getting faster though. I find that my right knee still bothers me during and after my runs (sometimes for a couple of days) but I think that it’s still healing. It’s probably good that it’s still not quite healed because it will keep me from doing more speed work than is wise. Even though I hate speed work I still find that it can be easy to push myself too hard or do too many days of speed work without enough easy runs in between. Today is going to be an easy run and hopefully I’ll refrain from doing any speed work. I haven’t been out on my bike at all and I haven’t even been to a spinning class in over 2 weeks. Maybe tomorrow I’ll try to hit a spinning class before I head out to the dropzone to skydive.
I’m still loving the classes that I’ve been taking. I finished one class last week and started another one this week. This one is specifically about addictions and I’m looking forward to all that I’m going to learn. It looks like there is going to be a lot of reading and the major assignment doesn’t look like much fun but I still think that I’m going to enjoy the course. I am officially registered for school in the fall to become a registered holistic nutritionist. I got an e-mail a couple of days ago with information including letting me know what I need to pre-read before classes start. I think that I’ll wait, to start the reading, until August when my current class will be finished.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

